About

Founded in 2012, the Arab American Studies Association (AASA) is a non-profit, nonpolitical organization of scholars and other persons interested in the study of Arab American history, ethnicity, culture, literature, art, music, politics, religion, and other aspects of Arab American experience.

The AASA’s objectives are to stimulate academic research in Arab American Studies and advance the study of Arabs in diaspora, including in the United States and North America. Through organizing a major conference every three years at the Arab American National Museum and annual meetings in alternating years in conjunction with Middle East Studies Association and the American Studies Association, AASA aims to facilitate communication and cooperation among its members and others interested in Arab American Studies.

Mission Statement

The Arab American Studies Association is a private, non-profit, nonpolitical organization of scholars and other people interested in the study of Arab American history, ethnicity, culture, literature, art and music, politics, religion, sociology and other aspects of Arab American experience. The objectives of the Association are to advance the study of Arabs in diaspora, including in North America.

The AASA facilitates communication among scholars through meetings; promotes cooperation among members of the Association and persons or organizations concerned with Arab American Studies; stimulates academic research in Arab American Studies; and explores intersections and comparative approaches among Arab American, Arab, and diasporic Arab experiences.

To learn more, please refer to the AASA Bylaws.

Board of Directors

All members of the Board of Directors are active officers who serve a two-year term and are nominated and elected at the annual business meeting, which is held at the start of the Middle East Studies Association (MESA) conference.

Board Members 2018-2019

President
Sally Howell
University of Michigan – Dearborn
sfhowell@umich.edu

 

President Elect
Amira Jarmakani
San Diego State University
ajarmakani@sdsu.edu

 

Secretary
Kristine Ajrouch
Eastern Michigan University
secretary@arabamericanstudies.org

 

Secretary Elect
Keith Feldman
University of California Berkeley
kpfeldman@berkeley.edu

 

Treasurer
Matthew Stiffler
Arab American National Museum
treasurer@arabamericanstudies.org

 

Web Coordinator

Member-at-Large
Mejdulene Shomali
University of Maryland Baltimore County
mejdulene.shomali@gmail.com

Member-at-Large
Nadia N. Abuelezam
Boston College
nadia.abuelezam@bc.edu